Report an accessibility problem

Aditi Chattopadhyay

Aditi ChattopadhyayDr. Aditi Chattopadhyay is a Regents’ Professor at Arizona State University (ASU). She is the Ira A. Fulton Chair Professor of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering in the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy (SEMTE) and the Director of Adaptive Intelligent Materials & Systems (AIMS) Center at ASU. She received her B. Tech (Hons) in Aeronautical Engineering from IIT Kharagpur in 1980, followed by MS and Ph. D. degrees in Aerospace Engineering from Georgia Institute of Technology, USA. Her research focuses on structural health monitoring and damage prognosis of heterogeneous material systems, multiscale modeling, multifunctional materials and adaptive structures, and multidisciplinary design optimization. She has been the Principal Investigator on numerous grants and collaborated with defense and government laboratories on significant technical transitions. Her direct graduate advising resulted in 29 Ph.D. and 25 M.S. degrees.

Dr. Chattopadhyay has served as the Associate Editor of AIAA Journal, Engineering Optimization and Inverse Problems in Engineering and is currently serving as the Associate Editor of the Computer Modeling in Engineering & Science, Journal of the American Helicopter Society, and Journal of Structural Durability and Health Monitoring. She has published over 165 archival journal papers and 350 other publications (conference papers, book chapters and NASA Technical Memorandum). She is the recipient of several academic, research and best paper awards. She was inducted into the Georgia Institute of Technology Hall of Fame and received the Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award (1995). She is the recipient of the Faculty Achievement Award – Excellence in Research, Arizona State University (2000). She received the 2013 Distinguished Alumnus Award from her alma mater, the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT). Dr. Chattopadhyay is a Fellow of American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA) and a Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).